EACT (Educators and Community Together): Chair, Robert Munson – We are the feel good community of our organization!  We work on the positive PR in our community  by engaging in different programs (such as The Run for Education and Moms on the Run) as well as other events.  We are also in charge of the Recognition Day event where we recognize two graduating seniors from every high school (who in turn recognize an educator who has made a difference in their life).

Communications: Co-Chairs, Jeni Martinez, Amanda Logan Jones – Updating and utilizing different forms of social media, as well as writing/working on our newsletters.

Awards committee: Chair, Nicolette Andrini – Helps to organize the Awards Banquet in May.  During this celebration, we recognize our retiring members as well as different awards.

Elections and Bylaws: Bylaws Chair, Maggie Babb; Elections Chair, Kerrian Neu – We work on the elections for the Association (both counting the ballots as well as making sure the information regarding the different offices are presented accurately).  We also work on updating/keeping our Bylaws Relevant.  We meet three times a year (for counting ballots: once for Delegate Assembly, once for Representative Assembly and once for the Board/Officers elections). Elections Policy

Government Relations: Chair, Mario Fitzpatrick – The Government Relations Committee organizes activities to advocate on behalf of students and educators at the local, state, and national levels. We have letter-writing meetings, phone-banks, walk neighborhoods to talk to voters, write letters to the editor, use bumper stickers, and attend rallies in Carson City.   We are always looking for people who are passionate about politics as many decisions are made in Carson City and Washington DC which directly impact our classrooms, work sites, students and profession.

Membership: Chair, Elizabeth Cadigan – Promote Association membership, train current members and assist in the dissemination of information pertaining to member benefits.  We sponsor different social events as well as ask for member discounts in our community.

Minority Affairs: Chair, Akasha Iaulualo – This committee has not been as active as it could be the last few years – we are trying to get it started again to assist the Association in the identification of ethnic minority members and encouraging/exploring ways to increase their participation in all Association activities and programs.  We are becoming more involved in the Social Justice issues around the state and our community.

Professional Development: Chair, Andrea DeMichieli –  Improve opportunities for professional development as well as exercise professional concerns in programs involving students teachers/professional autonomy.  We are always looking for professional development opportunities to offer our member.

Special Education: Chair, Kimberly Smerkers-Bass– more information to come

Fill out the WEA Committee Interest Survey if you would like to participate in any of our Committees.